This land is my land, this land is your land.

My husband and I are finally *really* starting to take advantage of our lot in life… military life, that is. It’s taken us awhile to get on the same page, but I think we’re getting there. I’ve always been a travel nut, he could take it or leave it… but I think I’ve finally gotten the travel bug to bite.

When I was a kid, I had a huge world map on the wall outside my room, and I would stick a sequin on every country or city or state or province that I wanted to visit. When I visited it, I’d change the color of the sequin. Other than a trip over the border from Alberta into Montana as an infant, I remained Canada-bound til I was 14… and that was when my family and I started to live the homeschooling life! (a bit of an oxymoron, relating this to globetrotting…) My sisters and I took a trip to California to scout out a college, my dad took us on a road trip through Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Montana and North Dakota (almost as flashy as Vegas), and then there was a road trip with my mom all the way across Canada, into Ontario & Quebec, down through Niagara Falls, into Vermont and across upstate New York, continuing through another 10 states on our way home. My family took several leisurely drives down to California, driving like mad people around the clock and sleeping in the car… but taking our time to see coastal Washington and Oregon (including a petrified forest [snicker] and the Redwoods), plenty of California, Death Valley, Zion National Park in Utah, Las Vegas, Arizona, Idaho and Montana. We’ve “been to” Mount Rushmore, and caught a breathtaking view of the… foot of the mountain. There was hopeless fog that day, so nary a presidential carving did we espy. But, dammit, we went. My family isn’t one to shy away from a road trip.

Now, my husband and I are living on the east coast and… you guessed it… we moved ourselves cross country. The military gave us the option of hauling our stuff over from California and letting us hop on a plane, but what fun is that? We got to stretch our legs… in the Grand Canyon.

Image

(The grammar nazi in me cringes at the lack of an apostrophe in “guides”…)

We drove through Texas and Oklahoma in a huge Penske truck, with all our worldly possessions plus a car in tow. In tornado season. We stayed in Bates Motel in some godforsaken Texan backwoods, where we (ok, *I*) fully expected to be murdered in the night and have saidworldly possessions spirited away by a tornado during the night.

Image

We… how do I describe New Mexico? We were in it. I’m sure there’s something there. In Arkansas I learned there was a worse place than Death Valley, and it pained me not to stop in Nashville.

I think that trip got the ball rolling, because then James started suggesting cruises and road trips and… a trip to Europe. *squeeeeeal*

Image

But I digress.

My point is/was, we’re taking advantage of this East Coast living situation. We’re aiming to hit up as many of these states as we can before our next move, and this is FUN. With a capital F-U-N. And the best part is, I thought that once we started having kids, I’d have to soak my travel bug in DEET, but I think for some reason we’re traveling more. Since having Susannah 3 months ago, we’ve been to 4 states, with plans for a few more in the next few months. I’ll talk about those later.

For Mother’s Day/our anniversary, James got me this super cool version of my childhood map:

Image

We are putting on the pieces of the states we’ve BOTH been to… aiming to eventually fill in the whole thing. It’s super fun (and no, we haven’t been to all those states… that’s just the preliminary “putting-it-all-together” phase). Here’s where we’ve been so far:

IMG_8215

However, this weekend, the long weekend of all things, we will not be adding any pieces. We’re doing a staycation… and I’m so excited! We’re planning on going to the aquarium, some local breweries, the beach, a movie night in, a BBQ… I love it.

Happy Memorial Day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

